Nominations Due January 1, 2020: Award for Library History of United States or Canada

The Donald G. Davis Article Award is presented by the Library History Round Table of the American Library Association every even-numbered year to recognize the best article written in English in the field of United States and Canadian library history.

The award honors Donald G. Davis, longtime professor at the School of Information at the University of Texas and editor of Libraries & the Cultural Record (formerly Journal of Library History, Philosophy, and Comparative Librarianship). A major contributor to the field, Dr. Davis has authored numerous history articles, advised many notable Ph.D. dissertations, compiled important bibliographies, and edited both the Encyclopedia of Library History (with Wayne Wiegand) and The Dictionary of American Library Biography, Second Supplement.

Eligibility and Criteria: Entries for the Davis Award must have been published during the two years preceding the award year; e.g. articles from 2018 and 2019 may be nominated for the 2020 award. Entries are judged on quality of scholarships, clarity of style, and depth of research. The round table is particularly interested in articles that place the subject within its broader historical, social, cultural, and political context and make interdisciplinary connections with print culture and information studies. One award will be given every second year unless the jury does not find a suitable candidate for that period. Papers that have won the Justin Winsor or Jesse Shera Awards are not eligible for consideration.

Nomination Process: Please nominate one or more articles by sending a recommendation and an electronic copy of the article to the Chair of the Davis Award Committee, Brett Spencer at

Subject line must read “Davis Article Award.”

Self-nominations are welcome.

Nominations must be sent by January 1, 2020.

Receipt will be confirmed within four business days (if you do not receive a confirmation within four days, please contact Brett Spencer).

Presentation of the Award: The winner will be announced in a press release following the jury’s decision. A certificate honoring the author(s) will be presented at a Library History Round Table award ceremony during the American Library Association Annual Conference.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: