Archival History Section Chair’s Letter

Spring 2022

Dear Members of the Archival History Section,

I have been so honored to serve as the chair of our section for the year 2021-22. I first wish to thank last year’s chair Sebastian Modrow for contacting me about the committee. Thanks as well to all the steering committee members: Rebecca Hankins, Dane Flansburgh, Trevor Alvord, and Catie Sampson. We are all looking forward to what the future will bring both to the committee and to the universe of archival history. We are blessed in being charged with knowing about research on our professional history being done both by archivists and other scholars. I would also like to thank Eric Stoykovich and Natalie Worsham for their excellent editorial work for the Archival History News. Since its launch in 2017, the Archival History News has established itself as a valued information hub on national and international archival history. Eric and Natalie have brought continued excellence.

Looking back at last year’s annual meeting I would like to highlight the presentations of our two guest speakers, which you can read about exclusively on AHN:

The meeting also fetured the announcement of the recipients of the 2021 Archival History Article Awards, which were given to:

Anthea Josias (member category), for “Archives, records, and land restitution in South Africa,” published in Archives, Recordkeeping, and Social Justice, edited by David A. Wallace et al.

Derek O’Leary (non-member category), for “Deborah Norris Logan and the Archival Threshold in the Antebellum U.S.” published in The New Americanist.

We have other projects that are ongoing as well. The Archival History News’ bibliography project as well as on the institutional histories project (an attempt to survey and document existing histories of archival repositories) are annually visited by many archivists and scholars of the archives.

I would like to encourage all our section members (and others) to consider joining us in these projects. Please let us know of your interest and in the meantime, enjoy our shared effort to understand and disseminate archival history.

Susan Tucker

Chair, Archival History Section

Website Built with

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: